Skip to main content
Qatar Stars League
Qatar Stars League

Khalid Salman

Legend Khalid Salman is one of the stars of the golden generation of Qatar football with our national team and Al Sadd club.

He was born in 1962 and started with the Al Sadd youth team in 1976 before graduating to the senior team in the 1978-1979 season. He had a great and distinguished career spanning nearly 20 years with Al Sadd.

Khalid Salman won many championships with Al Sadd and he was among their most prominent players who won the Asian Championship in 1989 under the late coach Obaid Juma, scoring the winning goal in the second-leg final against Iraq’s Al Rasheed. Al Sadd thus won the continental title for the first time in their history, also becoming the first Arab team to win the prestigious tournament.

He was a part of our Qatar team, which won second place at the 1981 FIFA World Youth Championship in Australia, where he scored three goals against Brazil.

He was also a part of the Olympic squad at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles, USA, where he shone and scored two goals against France.

He represented our senior national team from 1981 to 1991, and played in many editions of the Gulf Cup as well as regional, Arab and Asian competitions.

Khalid recalled these wonderful memories in an Exclusive Interview with the Qatar Stars League website, shedding light on his beginning, prominent successes and much more, be it with Al Sadd or the national teams.

Excerpts:

A long history and great successes achieved with Al Sadd and the Qatar national teams at all levels… It’s certain that these successes were achieved only with work and efforts coupled with talent. Tell us about your beginning and in which year did Khalid Salman start and how you joined Al Sadd?

In fact, this is a question that makes me go back to the mid-1970s when I started playing football in Al Hawari and Al Farij in the Al Sadd area. I used to play at school and with friends, and due to the proximity of our house to Al Sadd club, I was watching the teams train. I was excited and eager to join and joined the youth team,. I actually joined the youth club at the age of 14.

I played the first official championship with the Al Sadd youth team in 1976. I didn’t play in the beginning mainly because of my young age, but then I grabbed all opportunities and achieved successes and won the youth league championship in the 1977-1978 season. Then, I moved to the junior team and played regularly. In the same season, the able captain and coach, Hassan Othman, selected me in the first team, whom he coached at that time. The funny thing is that I used to play for the youth team in one half of the match and the next day I play one half for the first team.

In the 1978-1979 season, my real career began with the club’s first team and I competed in all tournaments – local, Gulf, Arab, Asian and Afro-Asian, and achieved unforgettable titles, until I retired in 1998.

Certainly, there’re moments in your career that you can’t forget. What’re your happiest moments with Al Sadd?

All my moments with Al Sadd were happy and unforgettable because when you play for a club that competes for all titles, you experience many happy and special moments.

You won many championships with the team. What’re the most important trophies that you’re proud of in your career?

I’ll talk about the domestic and foreign championships. Certainly, the general league championship is one of the important titles that I cherish in my career as a player. I also hold the Amir Cup I won with the team close to my heart.

At the foreign and Asian levels, I’m one of the few players to have unprecedented achievements as I won the Asian Championship, Arab Championship and Gulf Co-operation Council Championship when I was the captain of the team. As for the strongest championship, it is the Asian Championship that I won with Al Sadd in 1989.

You’ve worked under a lot of coaches. Who among them do you give more credit for what you achieved?

I learned a lot from every coach. But I particularly remember Hassan Othman, an able coach. He gave me the opportunity to play with the youth and first teams of Al Sadd. I also can’t forget the role of the wonderful coach who developed my capabilities and skills – Brazilian Evaristo, who coached Qatar at the 1981 FIFA World Youth Championship in Australia, where we finished a highly-creditable second.

Speaking of the youth team and the great achievement at the 1981 World Youth Championship, what’re your memories and the scenario that you still remember?

I can’t forget the great historical memories, as we got second place after a long journey. We got great results, most notably the victory over England by a 2-1 margin in the semifinal as well as victory over Brazil by a 3-2 margin.

I still remember a situation that happened to me after our match against Brazil, as I scored the three goals for our team and was wearing the No.16 shirt. Incidentally, the Brazilian player who scored both their goals was also wearing the No.16 shirt and, after the match ended, this Brazilian player came to me and asked me to sign the shirt which I was wearing. He praised our team, our players and the level we exhibited during the match.

We’ve noticed that you also played in No.16 jersey with Al Sadd and the national team. Is there a story behind your choice of this number?

Yes, I was a big fan of former Kuwaiti star Faisal Al Dakhil, who played in that number. That’s why I preferred No.16 to other numbers.

Who was your favourite team-mate?

Badr Bilal in Al Sadd, as we came through junior, youth and senior team levels together, and also played in the national team together.

And who’s the player you consider as your role model?

At the local level, my favourite player is Mubarak Anber as I considered him as a role model on the field. Although he played in the centre of defence, I benefited a lot from him, be it with Al Sadd or the national team.

The player that I liked the most at the Gulf level was Kuwaiti Jasem Yaqoub, one of the most talented players in Kuwaiti, Gulf and Arab football.

At the international level, Argentinian star (Diego) Maradona remains as one of the distinguished players who influenced many players of our generation and generations to come.

You played with many foreign professionals. Who’re the top five players from your generation you remember?

Former Ghanaian star Abedi Pele, the father of current Al Sadd player Andre Ayew, and a Brazilian player who used to play with us in the team named Paulo, in addition to three Iranian stars – Ali Daei, Qasimpour, Hossein Faraki.

If asked to form a team of five Qatari players from your generation, who would you choose?

I’ve seen highly-qualified Qatari players, be it with Al Sadd or the national team, and we’ve had strong relationships and distinguished friendship.

And the quintet that I’ll choose consists of Younes Ahmed as goalkeeper, Adel Malalla as defender, Ibrahim Khalfan as midfielder, and Badr Bilal and Khalid Salman as attackers.

Your presence was also special with the first team in terms of tournaments you played in and the matches you played, if we talk about your memories with our national team?

Representing the national team is the dream of any player and I thank God that I joined the team early and played nearly 135 international matches during a period of 11 years. It was a wonderful and distinguished stint as well, in addition to my time with the youth team and Olympic team. I remember that after my two goals against France at the Los Angeles Olympics, the Qatari media called me the historic scorer and I’m very proud of it.

What’s the difference between playing football then and now?

The difference is very big. We used to play as amateurs, now we are in the era of professionalism and Qatari players have become professional. In the past, we used to play for the logo and loved to play. There’re lots of differences in terms of stadiums and facilities then and now. Initially, we had one stadium (Doha Stadium) and then got Khalifa International and club stadiums. But now, the players are fortunate with the wonderful and distinctive facilities and stadiums. Player in the current generation have interest in terms of training and following the best means and ways to develop talent.

Regarding fans at that time and in general, the stadiums were full of spectators despite the difficulties that many of them were facing, as some fans walked an hour or two by foot to be present at the venue in order to support their teams. I think football fans in the past were more loyal to the clubs than now. Perhaps, the reason behind this is that we’re in the era of professionalism.

You’ve played many matches… Which match you remember the most?

Our match against Iraq’s Al Rasheed in the second leg of 1989 Asian Championship final. After we had lost in the away leg (2-3), we played at home on the first day of the blessed month of Ramadan and we had to win in order to win the championship. Thank God, that was achieved and I scored the only goal of the game which we won 1-0.

An unforgettable goal?

My first goal against France at the Los Angeles Olympics. That goal is special. As we were playing counter-attacks, Ibrahim Khalfan passed a ball to me and I scored with the left foot even though I play mainly with the right foot.

The most precious goal in your life?

The three goals I scored against Brazil at the 1981 FIFA World Youth Championship in Australia.

Finally, why didn’t you continue in the field of coaching and turned to sports analysis in the media and television channels?

After my career as a player ended, I got all qualified training courses as I was in coaching project. I trained at Al Sadd at junior and youth levels and became an assistant coach of the first team. I worked for ART, Orbit and Al Jazeera Sports, and I was one of the first to be on board of Al Kass sports channels.

I would like to emphasize that, whether I’m a coach or technical analyst, what matters to me is that my message arrives in football. Thank God, I now find myself in the field of technical analysis.

Title Sponsor

  • Qatar Stars League

Official Sponsors

  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League

Business Partners

  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League

تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
Qatar Stars League
Qatar Stars League

خالد سلمان

الأسطورة خالد سلمان، أحد نجوم الجيل الذهبي للكرة القطرية مع منتخبنا الوطني ونادي السد.

 

ولد في العام 1962، بدايته مع السد كانت في العام 1976 والذي التحق خلاله بفريق الناشئين، ثم تدرج حتى وصل للفريق الأول في موسم 1978- 1979، وخاض مسيرة كبيرة ومميزة لمدة تقترب من 20 عاماً مع نادي السد.

 

نجح خالد سلمان في الفوز بالعديد من البطولات مع نادي السد، وسيظل أبرزها حصد لقب البطولة الآسيوية عام 1989 تحت قيادة المدرب الراحل عبيد جمعه، وتسجيله هدف الفوز لنادي السد في النهائي خلال مباراة الإياب على فريق الرشيد العراقي، ليتوّج الزعيم باللقب للمرة الأولى في تاريخه كأول فريق عربي يحصل على البطولة.

 

شارك مع منتخبنا الوطني للشباب الذي حصل على المركز الثاني في بطولة كأس العالم عام 1981 في استراليا والتي سجل خلالها ثلاثة أهداف في مرمى منتخب البرازيل.

 

كان ضمن بعثة المنتخب الأولمبي في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية عام 1984 في لوس أنجلوس بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وخلال هذه الدورة تألق بشكل كبير وأحرز هدفين في مرمى منتخب فرنسا.

 

 ولعب مع منتخبنا الأول في الفترة من 1981 حتى 1991، وشارك في العديد من بطولات كأس الخليج والاستحقاقات الإقليمية والعربية والآسيوية. 

 

الكابتن خالد سلمان استعاد هذه الذكريات الرائعة في اللقاء الخاص الذي أجراه لموقع مؤسسة دوري نجوم قطر، وتحدث عن بداياته وأبرز نجاحاته سواء مع السد أو المنتخبات الوطنية.

 

إلى تفاصيل المقابلة:

تاريخ حافل ونجاحات كبيرة حققتها مع السد والمنتخبات الوطنية على كافة الأصعدة والمستويات، ومؤكد أن هذه النجاحات لم تتحقق سوى بالعمل والجهد المقرون بالموهبة.. لو حدثتنا عن البدايات وفي أي عام بدأ خالد سلمان وكيف انضم لنادي السد؟

في الحقيقية هذا سؤال يجعلني أعود بالذاكرة إلى منتصف السبعينيات من القرن الماضي، حيث كانت البداية عندما كنت أمارس كرة القدم في الحواري والفريج بمنطقة السد، وكنت ألعب في المدرسة ومع الأصدقاء، ونظراً لقرب منزلنا من نادي السد فكنت أشاهد الفرق تتدرب، أخذني الحماس والشغف للالتحاق بصفوف فريق الناشئين، وبالفعل انضممت للناشئين بالنادي عندما وصلت إلى سن 14 عاماً.

لعبت أول بطولة رسمية مع فريق الناشئين بنادي السد عام 1976، ولم أشارك بصفة أساسية في البداية بسبب صغر سني، ولكن بعدها أخذت الفرصة كاملة وحققنا نجاحات وحصلنا على بطولة دوري الناشئين في موسم 1977- 1978، ثم انتقلت إلى فريق الشباب وشاركت بصفة منتظمة، وفي نفس الموسم أخذني الكابتن والمدرب القدير حسن عثمان إلى الفريق الأول حيث كان مدرباً للفريق في ذاك الوقت، والطريف أنني كنت ألعب مع فريق الشباب خلال أي مباراة شوط واحد، وفي اليوم التالي ألعب شوط أيضاً ولكن مع الفريق الأول.

في الموسم 1978- 1979 بدأ مشواري الحقيقي مع الفريق الأول بالنادي، وشاركت في كافة البطولات؛ المحلية والخليجية والعربية والآسيوية والأفروآسيوية، وحققت ألقاب كبيرة لا يمكن أن تُنسى، حتى اعتزلت في العام 1998.

 

مؤكد أن هناك لحظات عشتها في مسيرتك لا يمكن أن تنساها، ما هي أسعد لحظاتك مع السد؟

كل لحظاتي مع السد كانت سعيدة ولا يمكن أنساها، لأنك عندما تلعب لنادي بطولات ينافس على كافة الألقاب فإنه يمر عليك الكثير من اللحظات السعيدة والمميزة.

 

حصلت على العديد من البطولات مع الفريق، لو تذكر لنا أهم الألقاب التي تعتز بها خلال مسيرتك؟

سأتحدث عن البطولات المحلية والخارجية؛ من المؤكد أن الحصول على بطولة الدوري العام من الألقاب المهمة التي أعتز بها خلال مشواري كلاعب، وكذلك من البطولات المُحببة إلى قلبي بطولة كأس سمو الأمير والتي حصلت عليها مع الفريق.

على الصعيد الخارجي والآسيوي، أنا من اللاعبين القلائل الذين حققوا إنجازات غير مسبوقة، حيث حصلت على البطولة الآسيوية، والبطولة العربية، وبطولة مجلس التعاون الخليجي عندما كنت كابتن للفريق، أما عن البطولة الأقوى فهي البطولة الآسيوية التي حققتها مع السد في العام 1989.

 

الكثير من المدربين الذين تدربت وعملت تحت قيادتهم، لكن من المدرب الذي له الفضل الأكبر فيما حققته ووصلت إليه؟

كل مدرب تعلمت منه الكثير، لكنني أذكر على وجه الخصوص المدرب القدير الكابتن حسن عثمان والذي منحي الفرصة للعب مع الشباب والفريق الأول بالسد، كذلك لا يمكن أن أنسى دور المدرب الرائع والذي طوّر من إمكانياتي ومهاراتي وهو البرازيلي إيفاريستو والذي كان مدرب منتخب الشباب خلال بطولة كأس العالم 1981 في استراليا والتي حصلنا خلالها على المركز الثاني في إنجاز كبير للغاية.

 

بمناسبة حديثك عن منتخب الشباب والإنجاز الرائع في كأس العالم 1981، ما هي ذكرياتك عن هذه البطولة والمواقف التي ما زلت تتذكرها؟

ذكريات تاريخية رائعة لا يمكن أن أنساها، حيث حصلنا على المركز الثاني بعد مشوار حافل ونتائج كبيرة مميزة حققناها، ومن أبرزها الفوز على منتخب الشباب الإنجليزي بهدفين مقابل هدف في الدور نصف النهائي، وأيضاً الفوز على منتخب البرازيل بثلاثة أهداف مقابل هدفين.

وما زلت أتذكر موقف حدث لي بعد مباراتنا أمام البرازيل، حيث إنني سجلت الأهداف الثلاثة لمنتخبنا وكنت أرتدي القميص رقم 16، ومن المفارقات أن اللاعب البرازيلي الذي سجل الهدفين كان يرتدي أيضاً القميص رقم 16، وعقب انتهاء المباراة جاءني هذا اللاعب البرازيلي وطلب مني التوقيع على القميص الذي كنت ارتديه، وأشاد كثيراً بمنتخبنا ولاعبينا والمستوى الذي قدمناه خلال المباراة.

 

لاحظنا أنك لعبت بالقميص رقم 16 أيضاً مع السد والمنتخب، فهل هناك حكاية أو قصة وراء اختيارك لهذا الرقم؟

نعم، أنا كنت من أشد المعجبين بالنجم الكويتي السابق فيصل الدخيل والذي كان يلعب بهذا الرقم، ولهذا السبب فضلت رقم 16 على غيره.

 

من اللاعب المفضل الذي كنت تحب اللعب بجواره؟

الكابتن بدر بلال في السد، حيث إننا صعدنا سوياً من الناشئين ثم الشباب وعقب ذلك الفريق الأول، وأيضاً لعبنا في المنتخب الوطني.

 

ومن هو اللاعب الذي كنت تعتبره قدوة لك في الملعب؟

على المستوى المحلي لاعبي المفضل الكابتن مبارك عنبر، حيث كنت أعتبره قدوة لي في الملعب بالرغم من أنه كان يلعب في مركز قلب الدفاع، وأنا استفدت منه كثيراً سواء مع الفريق أو المنتخب.

اللاعب الذي كنت استمتع كثيراً به على المستوى الخليجي النجم الكويتي جاسم يعقوب أحد أبرز الموهوبين في الكرة الكويتية والخليجية والعربية.

على المستوى العالمي يظل النجم الأرجنتيني ماردونا أحد اللاعبين المميزين والذين تأثر بهم الكثير من لاعبي جيلنا والأجيال التالية.

 

محترفون أجانب كثيرون لعبت معهم، لو تذكر لنا أفضل 5 لاعبين في جيلك؟

النجم الغاني السابق عبيدي بيليه والد لاعب السد الحالي أندريه آيو، ولاعب برازيلي كان يلعب معنا في الفريق اسمه باولو، بالإضافة للنجوم الإيرانيين الثلاثة؛ علي دائي، قاسم بور، حسين فركي.

 

لو طُلب من الكابتن خالد سلمان تشكيل فريق خماسي من اللاعبين القطريين من أبناء جيله، من يختار؟

لقد عاصرت لاعبين قطريين على أعلى مستوى من الكفاءة سواء مع السد أو المنتخب، وكان بيننا علاقة متينة وقوية وصداقة مميزة.

والفريق الخماسي الذي سأختاره يتكون من: يونس أحمد في مركز حراسة المرمى، عادل مال الله في قلب الدفاع، إبراهيم خلفان في وسط الملعب، وبدر بلال وخالد سلمان في الخط الأمامي.

 

كان حضورك مميزاً أيضاً مع المنتخب الأول من حيث البطولات التي شاركت فيها والمباريات التي خضتها، لو تحدثنا عن ذكرياتك مع منتخبنا؟

يظل التواجد مع المنتخب الوطني الحلم الذي يراود أي لاعب، وأنا الحمد لله انضممت مبكراً للمنتخب، ولعبت ما يقارب من 135 مباراة دولية في مدة زمنية 11 عاماً وكانت فترة رائعة ومميزة أيضاً، بالإضافة إلى فترة تواجدي مع منتخب الشباب والمنتخب الأولمبي، وأتذكر أنه بعد تسجيلي هدفين في شباك منتخب فرنسا في أولمبياد لوس أنجلوس أطلق علىّ الإعلام والصحافة القطرية لقب الهداف التاريخي وأنا أعتز وأفتخر كثيراً بهذا اللقب.

 

ما هو الفارق بين كرة القدم واللعب زمان والآن؟

الفارق كبير للغاية، زمان كنا نلعب هواة، الآن نحن في عصر الاحتراف واللاعب القطري أصبح محترف، في السابق كنا نلعب للشعار وحباً في ممارسة الرياضة، كذلك هناك فارق بين الملاعب والمنشآت حيث كان لدينا ملعب واحد في فترة معينة وهو استاد الدوحة ثم بعد ذلك استاد خليفة الدولي وملاعب الأندية، ولكن الآن اللاعبين محظوظين بالمنشآت والملاعب الرائعة والمميزة، أيضاً هناك اهتمام باللاعب في الجيل الحالي من حيث والتدريب واتباع أفضل الوسائل والطرق لتطوير المواهب.  

بالنسبة للجماهير زمان وبشكل عام، كانت الملاعب تمتلئ بالحضور بالرغم من الصعوبات التي كانت تواجه الكثير منهم، حيث كانت بعض الجماهير تقطع مسافة ساعة أو ساعتين سيراً على الأقدام للحضور والتواجد وذلك لمساندة الكيان، وأعتقد أن جماهير كرة القدم في السابق كان ولاءهم للأندية أكثر من الآن وربما السبب وراء ذلك أننا في عصر الاحتراف.

 

مباريات عديدة لعبتها، لكن لو تذكر لنا مباراة لن تنساها؟

مباراتنا ضد الرشيد العراقي في إياب نهائي البطولة الآسيوية عام 1989، حيث كنا قد خسرنا في العراق، ولعبنا مباراة الإياب في أول يوم من شهر رمضان المبارك، وكان يجب أن نفوز حتى نحصل على البطولة والحمد لله تحقق ذلك وأنا سجلت هدف اللقاء الوحيد الذي منحنا اللقب.

 

هدف لن تنساه؟

هدفي الأول الذي سجلته في منتخب فرنسا خلال أولمبياد لوس أنجلوس، ولهذا الهدف حكاية، حيث كنا نلعب على الهجمات المرتدة، ومرر لي الكابتن إبراهيم خلفان كرة وسجلت بالقدم اليسرى بالرغم أنني ألعب في الأساس بالقدم اليمنى.

 

أغلى هدف في حياتك؟

الأهداف الثلاثة التي سجلتها في مرمى البرازيل خلال كأس العالم للشباب 1981 في استراليا.

 

أخيراً لماذا لم تستمر في مجال التدريب واتجهت للتحليل الرياضي في وسائل الإعلام والقنوات التلفزيونية؟

بعد انتهاء مشواري كلاعب حصلت على كافة الدورات التدريبية المؤهلة حيث إنني كنت مشروع مدرب، ودرّبت في مدرسة السد، وفئة البراعم، والشباب، ثم مساعداً لمدرب الفريق الأول، وبعدها لم يكن هناك مخطط واضح بالنسبة لي على الصعيد التدريبي إلى أن قررت الاتجاه لمجال التحليل، وعملت في قنوات ART، وأوربت، والجزيرة الرياضية، وأنا من الأوائل الذين تواجدوا في قنوات الكأس الرياضية.

ما أود التأكيد عليه؛ سواء كنت مدرباً أو محللاً فنياً، ما يهمني أن تصل رسالتي في كرة القدم، والحمد لله أجد نفسي الآن في مجال التحليل الفني.

الراعي الاستراتيجي

  • Qatar Stars League

الراعي الرسمي

  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League

شركاء العمل

  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League
  • Qatar Stars League